Local 793 has announced winners of the 2015 Jack Redshaw Scholarship awards.

The winners are:

Caleb Barber
Mario El Kassis
Lauren Flanagan
Breeann Gallagher
Sarah Ann Kowalchuk
Rachel Ann Krisko
Liam Lew
Alexander Melo
Sardar Ahmar Wasif
Morgan White

Each winner received $4,000. There were 30 applicants this year.

The scholarship is named in honour of the late Jack Redshaw, who was a Local 793 member for 42 years. He was a business rep for 20 years and also served as labour relations manager and recording-corresponding secretary of the union.

The awards are available to the sons, daughters and grandchildren of members who are in good standing.

Scholarship recipients must be entering the first or subsequent year of a full-time course of study (at least two years in length) leading to a diploma, certificate or degree from any recognized public Canadian college or university.

Applications can be downloaded from the members section of the Local 793 website. They can also be obtained by contacting any Local 793 area office.

The deadline for 2016 applications is Friday, Sept. 9, 2016.