Local 793 will be producing a video and special commemorative book to mark the 100th anniversary of the union in 2019.

We’re trying to find out more about the 11 original founders of the union.

The 11 members met at the Elliott House hotel at Church and Shuter streets in Toronto on Dec. 11, 1919 and signed a letter, requesting a charter for the local.

If you have any information about the founders, or any of their existing family members, we’d like to hear from you.

We’d also like to hear from any members who may have a steam ticket, or whose relatives may have had a steam ticket, and may be able to provide information on the original founding members.

Following are the names of those 11 founders:

Frank Dennis
Joseph Valin
James Hawkins
William Wells
J.S. Miller
Thomas Lahey
Dave McBlaine
Mat Clark
A. Richardson
J. Wright
R.J. Elliott

Any member with information about the founders is encouraged to get in touch with Local 793 director of communications Grant Cameron at 905-469-9299, ext. 2276, or via email at gcameron@iuoelocal793.org.